O Ultimo

25 de Junho 2018.

HEY FAM.

I had a great week. We worked hard, went on splits, I had my final zone conference, and got to talk with President Lacerda for a good hour in my interview. In my interview during the zone conference President Lacerda offered me the chance to stay 2 more weeks if I didn´t have any plans. I talked with him for a long time and then he came to the conclusion that he wants me to travel my entire last week doing splits to influence and help some missionaries who are struggling. I will be traveling to São Gonçalo tomorrow, Lavras on Wednesday, and Campo Belo on Thursday. We will get home Friday morning where I will pack my bags and visit some of the members that I had some good friendships with and then saturday morning I will be off to Juiz de Fora. It´s good because we will just work hard with other missionaries to help their areas.

I don´t think I will be able to write you guys next week because here in our mission the monday before going home they do a Self-Sufficiency course of about 8 hours to help missionaries find jobs and start their own little business. So I think this is officially my last letter of the my mission. Geez, thats crazy.

In this last letter all I would like to do is bear my final testimony. I will be sincere and honest.

In the beginning of the mission it was really hard. I didn´t like it at all and I felt deceived on what the mission would be. From letters that I had read of other missionaries I assumed that I would baptize 10 people every week here in brazil and that I would never find difficulties or sadness. It was an extremely unrealistic perspective, but it was what was in my head. Over time as I began to study the scriptures more and ponder, the mission became beautiful to me. I began to LOVE working and finding people to teach and to love the members and their efforts to help the church grow. As I began to learn more about my Savior Jesus Christ my love for him and the church grew. As I came to know the Prophet Joseph I felt sincerely in my heart that he was a Prophet of the living God.

I know that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints is undeniably the only true church on the face of the earth. I know that the head of this Church is our Lord and Savior Jesus Chirst and that the church is directed here on the earth by a Prophet that is called of God. I testify that Russell M. Nelson was called by the Father and that if we listen and follow all the he teaches with exactness we will be blessed and will be able to live happy lives. I know that all the leaders of the church are called of God and recieve revelation in their respective areas. I know and testify that the Book of Mormon is true. It is the word of God and is the only book that together with the Bible holds the Fulness of the Everlasting Gospel. I know that the Plan of Salvation is real and that we will able to live with our families eternally. I know that the temple is the house of the Lord and that by going there frequently we can become molded by the spirit and we can learn from on high. I KNOW that Joseph Smith was a prophet. That through him the True Church of Christ was restored to the earth. I know that by prayer we can recieve answers to our questions and recieve guidance in every matter.

There is so much more that I have learned in these last two years. The Lord has truly polished me into a person who is more on the path to Christ. I am not perfect in any way but I know now the true and right path. These were the best two years for my life.  

I am so thankful for my mission. It changed me and was the best experience of my life. The Lord has blessed me immensely in these last two years and I am eternally grateful for the chance I had to serve. The Lord GAVE so much more to me than I gave in these last two years. I want to thank my family and friends and all who supported me. I love my Heavenly Father and his Son Jesus Christ.

Until next week, when I will see all your faces once again

In the name of Jesus Christ. Amen.

Elder Nichols

IMG_7962IMG_7945IMG_7958IMG_7954IMG_7950IMG_7963IMG_7944IMG_7934IMG_7948IMG_7943IMG_7939IMG_7949IMG_7941IMG_7955IMG_4872IMG_8052IMG_7952IMG_7947IMG_7940IMG_7956IMG_7961

 

Leave a comment