The Last of Us

21 de Maio, 2018.

HEY FAM! Geez……I am now with my group the oldest missionaires in our mission. I want to cry a little because I think about leaving the mission and I feel sad and at the same time happy because I get to see you , it´s a little confusing. 6 weeks left. The only thing I can do is make the absolute most of it.

This week was hard, but filled with great moments. I had told you that it was my desire to train an American greenie. The Lord responded. I will be staying as a zone leader, BUT I will be training a new zone leader named Elder Salvatierra. He´s from Mato Grosso do Sul and I will be picking him up tomorrow from the bus station. I´m really excited to be able to serve with him. He (from what I´ve heard) is extrememly obedient and hard working and I can´t think of a greater blessing than to have him as my last companion. 

Stories: 

I learned a huge lesson this week about gratitude as we were working in the street going to the chapel. We heard a little kid screaming and crying and I thought “Geez this little guy is so chato, why is he crying.” I then looked to the other side of the street on the side walk and saw. A 8 year old boy and a 5 year old boy holding their moms hands trying to lead her home. She was drunk and could barely walk, she stumbled the whole way and her sons were trying to take her home so that they could sleep. It was 8 at night. We went over to try and help and the kid said “Can you guys help us. My mom can´t walk and I want to go home.” We didn´t have money for a taxi because I´d left my wallet at home and there was no one in the street. We help them to get on their way home and we prayed for them. 

For everyone back home. Be grateful for your parents. Be grateful that we can look up to them as examples and that they help us get home instead of the contrary.

I had an awesome experience with personal revelation this week. I was praying the whole week and wrestling with Heavenly Father to be a trainer and no longer a zone leader, but I kept feeling the same impression. “You will stay, I need you here” I didn´t want to accept it, and so I kept praying to change his opionion hahaha. One night when I was praying it was brought to my mind a specific part of my patriarcal blessing that say I will wear out my life serving the Lord and that I will recieve callings of responsiblity. A thought then came to me that said “I am preparing you for the future. You will stay here.” 

I knew the transfer before it happened and I felt a big confirmation when it was passed on to us last night. 

Vanderlei and Talita a family that we baptized a few months back got intervewed this week to begin preparing for the temple. I want to come back to Brazil to see their sealing next year.

That´s all I got this week. Sorry for few letters. I still have so much zone stuff to do before my email time is over. 

I traveled 10 hours to do baptismal interviews and so that was just a mess, I don´t like traveling in the mission hahah, but I got to go with Elder Santos who is one of my best friends out here and so it was fun because we talked a lot.

I love you all. I´m so grateful for all I have. My family. Our Savior. Our Heavenly Father. The Church.

Have a great week everyone! 

Elder Nichols

IMG_7268
Mother’s Day Skype call

IMG_7267

Leave a comment